Ex-referee argues Mac Allister tackle was ‘not a red card’

Liverpool’s Andy Robertson (L) and Alexis Mac Allister during the FA Premier League match between Chelsea FC and Liverpool FC at Stamford Bridge. The game ended in a 1-1 draw.
As Liverpool appeal the red card shown to Alexis Mac Allister in their win over Bournemouth, one ex-Premier League referee has argued their case.
As reported by This Is Anfieldβs David Lynch, Liverpool have now notified the FA of their plans to appeal Mac Allisterβs red card.
The midfielder was dismissed for a soft challenge on Ryan Christie just before the hour mark in Saturdayβs 3-1 victory, with the decision not overturned by VAR.
It has left Liverpool at risk of losing their No. 10 for the upcoming clashes with Newcastle (August 27), Aston Villa (September 3) and Wolves (September 16).
But they will hope to now avoid a three-match ban and have Mac Allister available for Sunday, having received support in their process.
Dermot Gallagher, formerly a Premier League referee and now part of Sky Sportsβ coverage, has explained why he feels the tackle was βnot a red card.β
βI think the problem here, for me, is the referee thinks itβs a high tackle, but it only becomes a high tackle because both players are there,β Gallagher said.
βIf you look, the boot actually catches him on the ankle.
βIf his foot was on the ground and he still catches him in the same place, itβs not a high tackle.
βI think thatβs what deceived the referee, that theyβve both got their feet off the ground.
βNot a red card for me.β
LIVERPOOL, ENGLAND – Saturday, August 19, 2023: Liverpool’s Alexis Mac Allister (R) is sent off by Referee Thomas Bramall after a high challenge on Bournemouth’s Ryan Christie during the FA Premier League match between Liverpool FC and AFC Bournemouth at Anfield.
Asked whether he felt Liverpool should appeal the decision, Gallagher said: βThey would have to convince the panel that it was a clear and obvious error by the referee.β
The notion of βclear and obviousβ is one that has negatively impacted the way in which games are refereed, with the point of VAR diluted by red tape.
Mac Allisterβs challenge on Christie, upon reviewing the various angles available on footage, was clearly not worthy of a red card.
However, another ex-referee now working with Sky Sports, Mike Dean, outlined why he felt it was βnot a wrong decisionβ by referee Thomas Bramall.
βHeβs gone in quite high. Thereβs not a lot of force in the challenge, but he has just caught him quite high,β Dean explained.
βItβs just a lazy leg, he probably doesnβt need to make the challenge. The footβs quite high, he has caught him on the shin.
βItβs not a wrong decision by the referee. Heβs gone in with the studs showing, heβs caught him on the shin. Itβs not a wrong decision.
βVAR would have looked at it, happy with Tomβs decision, game moves on.β